Terms Of Use Privacy Statement
G2D
Dubai Expat Life

Dubai Public Holidays 2017

20 December 2016

Given here is the list of UAE Public holidays for the year 2017. Private companies will also be closed on these days. The Islamic festivals are based on Islamic calendar, determined by various moon phase sighting. The dates of the holidays change every year. The Dubai Statuary Government Holidays 2017 calendar is only based on estimates. The Dubai holiday calendar cannot be guaranteed for 100 percent accuracy.

In the year 2017, employees in government sector may have about 14 holidays, while their counterparts in private sector may enjoy 11 days off. In UAE the weekend is on Friday and Saturday. Here is the list of UAE Public Holidays in 2017.

public holidays dubai

International New Year's Day
Sunday 1st January 2017
(Public and private sectors, and Banks in UAE remain closed in the New Year).

Israa & Miaraj
Monday, 24th April 2017

Eid-al-Fitr – The end of Ramadan fasting month (3 days public holidays)
Monday, 26th June 2017
Tuesday, 27th June 2017
Wednesday, 28th June 2017

Arafat (Haj) Day – The second day of the Hajj or Pilgrimage for Muslims
Thursday, 31st August 2017

Eid-al-Adha – Feast of sacrifice in Islamic tradition – Qurban (3 days public holidays)
Friday, 1st September 2017
Saturday, 2nd September 2017
Sunday, 3rd September 2017

Al-Hijra – Islamic New Year
Thursday, 21st September 2017

Martyrs' Day
Thursday, 30th November 2017

Birthday of the Prophet Mohammed (probable holiday)
Friday – 1st December 2017

UAE National Day – The UAE’s formal independence from the UK
Saturday - 2nd December 2017
Sunday - 3rd December 2017 (public sector only)

 

Note:Holidays are sometimes subject to arbitrary last minute changes by local authorities, just as in any other part of the world. Although, effort has been made to present an accurate list of holidays for the year 2017, we cannot accept responsibility for any errors or omission of data herein. Therefore, you can verify the above dates with the official government announcements or UAE consulate, before planning a trip to UAE.

 

Robin Vinod

Writer/blogger who writes on topics such as travel, real estate, employment and everyday life on GCC countries