Terms Of Use Privacy Statement
G2D
Dubai Expat Life

Dubai Public Holidays 2016

14 December 2015

Given here is the list of UAE Public holidays for the year 2016. Private companies will also be closed on these days. The Islamic festivals are based on Islamic calendar, determined by various moon phase sighting. The dates of the holidays change every year. The Dubai Statuary Government Holidays 2016 calendar is only based on estimates. The Dubai holiday calendar cannot be guaranteed for 100 percent accuracy.

In the year 2016, employees in government sector may have about 14 holidays, while their counterparts in private sector may enjoy 11 days off. Here is the list of UAE Public Holidays in 2016.

public holidays dubai

International New Year's Day
Friday 1st January 2016
(Public and private sectors, and Banks in UAE remain closed in the New Year).

Israa & Miaraj
Thursday, 5th May 2016

Start of Ramadan – The 1st day of Ramadan as per Islamic lunar calendar

Monday, 6th June 2016

Eid-al-Fitr – The end of Ramadan fasting month (3 days public holidays)

Thursday, 7th July 2016
Friday, 8th July 2016
Saturday, 9th July 2016

Arafat (Haj) Day – The second day of the Hajj or Pilgrimage for Muslims

Saturday, 10th September 2016

Eid-al-Adha – Feast of sacrifice in Islamic tradition – Qurban (3 days public holidays)

Sunday, 11th September 2016
Monday, 12th September 2016
Tuesday, 13th September 2016

Al-Hijra – Islamic New Year

Sunday, 2nd October 2016

UAE National Day – The UAE’s formal independence from the UK

Friday - 2nd December 2016
Saturday - 3rd December 2016 (public sector only)

Birthday of the Prophet Mohammed (probable holiday, as 2nd time in 2015 based on lunar cycles)

Monday, 12th December 2016

Note:Holidays are sometimes subject to arbitrary last minute changes by local authorities, just as in any other part of the world. Although, effort has been made to present an accurate list of holidays for the year 2016, we cannot accept responsibility for any errors or omission of data herein. Therefore, you can verify the above dates with the official government announcements or UAE consulate, before planning a trip to UAE.

Robin Vinod

Writer/blogger who writes on topics such as travel, real estate, employment and everyday life on GCC countries