Dubai Local Time

Dubai Guide

Emirates in the UAE

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) is a federation of seven emirates, with each having its own ruler. The federal government is a constitutional republic, headed by President and Council of Ministers. The countryís conservative laws, customs and practices are governed by Islamic beliefs and ideals. UAE was known as Trucial States or Trucial Oman prior to independence in 1971. Islam is the official religion in the UAE, and Arabic is the official language.

The UAE has a modern and developed infrastructure, and tourist facilities are widely available in all emirates in the UAE. The UAE is governed by hereditary emir, with a single national President.

Among the seven constituent emirates in the UAE are - Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Ajman, Fujairah, Ras Al Khaimah, Sharjah and Umm al-Quwain. Despite their unity as a single national body, the fact that borders divide them, make each emirate have its own individual legal system, government and character.

Abu Dhabi, the UAE capital, is the centre of political, industrial and cultural activities in the UAE. While Abu Dhabi is the powerhouse, both in terms of size and wealth, Dubai is the most celebrated of the seven emirates, given, itís incredible construction boom in the past two decades. Dubai is also the most populous of all the emirates.

Sharjah is the only emirate to have coastline on both sides of the country, and is considered as the cultural centre. Ras al-Khaimah is the northern emirate, and is comparatively bereft of oil. Ajman is the smallest of all emirates in the UAE, while Umm-Al Quwain forms the modest pocket along the west coast, while Fujairah is located on the east coast of the UAE.

Emirate of Abu Dhabi

Abu Dhabi, officially known as Emirate of Abu Dhabi, is one among the seven emirates that constitute the UAE. It is located in the Persian Gulf region, and adjoins the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and Sultanate of Oman. Abu Dhabi is the capital of UAE, and is the largest emirate by area (67,340 sq km), and also second largely populated emirate, constituting 86percent of total land area, after Dubai. The seat of President of UAE is located in Abu Dhabi city, which also hosts several oil companies, the federal cabinet and foreign embassies.

Abu Dhabi has grown as the most important cultural and entertainment hub in the UAE, drawing several visitors of all age groups to its multiple cultural events all through the year.

Read more information about tourist attractions in Abu Dhabi

Emirate of Dubai

The dazzling emirate of Dubai is the obvious place to begin a tour of the UAE. Apart from the fact that its airport is the largest airline hub in the region, it is also easily accessible with non-stop flights from all major international airports.

Dubai was already chosen as the eighth most visited city in the world, in 2010. Towards the year 2015, Dubai is likely to accommodate a population of 15million tourists. This is mainly because the landmarks in Dubai are plenty, and are truly impressive for the tourists. Some most important landmarks in Dubai, worth visiting are:

Read more information about Dubai Emirate

Emirate of Sharjah

Located along the northern coast of Persian Gulf on the Arabian Peninsula, Sharjah is certainly an easy to reach city from its neighbouring emirate Dubai. It is the third-largest emirate in the UAE. It is the only one to have land on both Arabian Gulf Coast and the Gulf of Oman.

Given, the rich legacy of arts, heritage and culture, the emirate of Sharjah is also known as the Cultural Capital of the UAE. Sharjah is bordered by city of Ajman and Dubai, and is 170kms away from Abu Dhabi.

The city of Sharjah offers wonderful attractions to entertain visitors, including several tourist spots, traditional souqs, museums, shopping malls, family and entertainment amenities and luxurious hotels.

Read more information about tourist attractions in Sharjah Emirate

Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah

Ras Al Khaimah (RAK), located along the east of the Persian Gulf, is one of the seven emirates in the UAE, and is the fourth-largest emirate in the UAE. The old name of Ras Al Khaimah was Julphar. It is in the northern part of UAE, bordering Omanís exclave. Spanning across an area of 1700 square kilometres, the Ras Al Khaimah city has two main sections - Old Ras Al Khaimah and Nakheel, on either side of creek.

Ras Al Khaimah (RAK) offers plenty to visitors who wish to get acquainted with local history, nature and culture of the emirate. There are plenty of picturesque desert, ancient sites, abandoned villages, and several other attractions that is getting popular recently. With the spectacular scenery that RAK has to offer, it has the potential to be one of the major attractions in the UAE.

Read more information about tourist attractions in Ras Al Khaimah Emirate

Emirate of Fujairah

Fujairah is the fifth largest emirate, and one of the seven emirates that constitute the UAE. It is the only emirate located on the Gulf of Oman in the eastern end of the country, instead of the Persian Gulf. Fujairah is totally mountainous, while all other emirates including Abu Dhabi and Dubai are located along the west coast, and are mostly covered by desert.

Tourist attractions are plenty in Fujairah. The best time to visit Fujairah is during the autumn or spring when the temperature is still hot, but rains are yet to arrive.

Read more information about tourist attractions in Fujairah Emirate

Emirate of Ajman

Ajman is the smallest of all emirates in the UAE. Located centrally along the western coast of the UAE, Ajman lies on the Gulf Coast, with its beach extending 16kms. Ajman is just about 460 Sq. Km., in area, including the regional waters, which is about 600 Sq. Kms. Ajman City is the capital of the emirate, and is located at a small creek of 16 Km in length along the North Eastern part of Sharjah.

Ajman holds plenty of promises to tourists, owing to varied features of economic development currently prevailing in the emirates. Ajman is witnessing considerable growth and development, just like in the rest of the UAE, and therefore, tourist attractions and activities, including shopping, cultural and shopping opportunities are growing rapidly.

Read more information about tourist attractions in Ajman Emirate

Emirate of Umm Al Quwain

Located between Ras al Khaimah and Ajman, Umm al-Quwain is one of the seven emirates in the UAE, spanning a land area of 750 to 800 square kilometres. It is located along the vital trade route between Asia and India. Umm Al Quwain was formed in 1775, when Sheikh Majid Al Mualla established Umm Al Quwain as an independent sheikhdom.

Although Umm Al Quwain is a smaller and less urban emirate than others, its natural and wildlife features make it an excellent place for naturalists and tourist, as for those who are not into bird-watching or fishing, there are several land/water sports and recreations as well.

Read more information about tourist attractions in Umm Al Quwain Emirate

Share This Page


Share This Page